This website is an archive of the work of Marietje Schaake in the European Parliament between 2009 and 2019. Marietje can be reached at

Inauguration of President Rouhani in Iran

Letter to HR/VP

Today, ahead of the inauguration ceremony of President Rouhani in Iran, Marietje Schaake sent the following letter to High Representative Federica Mogherini. The names of the Members that co-signed the letter are below. 


Brussels, 4 August 2017

Honourable High Representative, Federica,

This Saturday you will travel to Tehran to attend the inauguration ceremony of President Rouhani, in your capacity as Chair of the Joint Commission of the JCPOA. I applaud your leadership to ensure that all sides fully and effectively implement this essential deal and I support the ongoing development of a broad agenda for EU-Iran relations.

However, it should be made clear that the relationship between the EU and Iran can only be successful when accompanied by respect for the rights and wellbeing of people in Iran.

Throughout President Rouhani’s first term in office, human rights defenders, journalists and ethnic and religious minorities have suffered increasing repression, with the judiciary handing down long prison sentences and issuing execution orders at an alarming rate. Numerous dual nationals are imprisoned without due process. Yet during his re-election campaign, President Rouhani ramped up promises on human rights reforms, adding that in voting for him, Iranians would be choosing "a lawyer who defends people's rights".

In your meetings on Saturday, I hope you emphasise that President Rouhani has to deliver on these promises, and I urge you to call on the Iranian authorities to immediately and unconditionally release all individuals imprisoned solely for their peaceful activities.



Marietje Schaake (ALDE) Beatriz Becerra (ALDE) Brando Benifei (S&D) Enrique Calvet Chambon (ALDE) Tunne Kelam (EPP) Jude Kirton-Darling (S&D) Monica Macovei (ECR) Matthijs van Miltenburg (ALDE) Frédérique Ries (ALDE) Jordi Solé (Greens/EFA) Bart Staes (Greens/EFA) Jaromír Stetina (EPP) Pavel Telička (ALDE) Ivo Vajgl (ALDE)  Julie Ward (S&D)