This website is an archive of the work of Marietje Schaake in the European Parliament between 2009 and 2019. Marietje can be reached at

Italian arms exports to Saudi Arabia

Written Questions

Today, Marietje Schaake submitted written questions to High Representative Mogherini concerning the sales of Italian arms to Saudi Arabia. The questions were co-signed by ... MEP's from ...political groups.


A recent New York Times investigation has tracked bombs, manufactured by Italian company RWM to Yemen. These bombs were subsequently used in bombardments by the Saudi air force and have been traced to various civilian targets and deaths (1).  

Is the HR/VP familiar with this specific situation in which MK series bombs were sold to Saudi Arabia, a party in an armed conflict, in violation of Italian arms export regulations and is she aware of other arms exports by European companies to Saudi Arabia and other actors involved in armed conflict and can she elaborate on these (2)?  

Does the HR/VP agree that such arms exports by RWM as well as by possible other companies, and authorised by the Italian government or of other EU Member States may violate Council Common Position 2008/944/CFSP and will she clarify the specific issue described above with the Italian Prime Minister and Italian Minister of Defence at the earliest possible opportunity?  

Following repeated calls by the European Parliament, including in November 2017, will the HR/VP make sure an EU arms embargo against Saudi Arabia is prioritized during the next Foreign Affairs Council of January 22nd?  


 2)   Italian Law 185/90

Marietje Schaake (ALDE)

Urmas Paet (ALDE)

Sophie in 't Veld (ALDE)

Jude Kirton-Darling (S&D)

Dennis de Jong (GUE)

Peter van Dalen (ECR)

Liliana Rodrigues (S&D)

Patricia Lalonde (ALDE)

Molly Scott Cato (Greens) 

Michel Reimon (Greens)

Pavel Telicka (ALDE)

Alyn Smith (Greens) 

Sofia Sakorafa (GUE)

Morten Helveg Petersen (ALDE)

Beatriz Becerra (ALDE)

Luke Ming Flanagan (GUE)

Petras Austrevicius (ALDE)

Izaskun Bilbao Barandica (ALDE)

Hilde Vautmans (ALDE)

Ivo Vajgl (ALDE)

Antonio Marinho e Pinto (ALDE)

Barbara Spinelli (GUE)

Barbara Lochbihler (Greens) 

Klaus Buchner (Greens) 

Franz Obermayr (ENF)

Claude Turmes (Greens)

Jordi Sole (Greens) 

Merja Kyllönen (GUE)

Sabine Losing (GUE)

Javier Nart (ALDE)

Jiří Maštálka(GUE)

Bronis Rope (Greens)

Yana Toom (ALDE)

Stefan Eck (GUE)

Ana Maria Gomes (S&D)

Elly Schlein (S&D)

Pier Antonio Panzeri (S&D)

Eva Kaili (S&D)

Martina Anderson (GUE)

Lynn Boylan(GUE)

Matt Carthy(GUE)

Liadh Ni Riada(GUE)

Margrete Auken (Greens) 

Julie Ward (S&D)

Bodil Valero (Greens)

Maria Heubuch (Greens) 

Nessa Childers (S&D)

Helmut Scholz (GUE)