This website is an archive of the work of Marietje Schaake in the European Parliament between 2009 and 2019. Marietje can be reached at

Nasrin Sotoudeh in Iran

Letter to High Representative Mogherini

Today, together with 38 MEPs from different groups, I sent the following letter to High Representative Mogherini, on the case of leading human rights lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh in Iran. 


Brussels, June 28th 2018

Dear Madam High Representative, Federica,

We write to express our deep concern about the arrest of leading human rights lawyer and Sakharov laureate Nasrin Sotoudeh in Iran. She has been imprisoned for more than two weeks now, in the notorious Evin Prison, facing trumped up charges and possibly a long sentence. 

Nasrin Sotoudeh is one of the most courageous and respected lawyers still left and working in Iran. Having defended human rights defenders, including women who were arrested for protesting the compulsory headscarf, her arrest sends a chilling signal to many.

As a Sakharov Prize recipient, Nasrin Sotoudeh deserves vocal European support. We urge you to do all within your power, to ensure her immediate and unconditional release. 


Marietje Schaake (ALDE) 

Tunne Kelam (EPP)

Sophie in ‘t Veld (ALDE)

Wajid Khan (S&D)

Marie-Christine Vergiat (GUE/NGL)

Ana Gomes (S&D)

Fabio Massimo Castaldo (EFDD)     

Nessa Childers (S&D)

Jasenko Selimovic (ALDE)

Merja Kyllönen (GUE/NGL)

Milan Zver (EPP)

Joachim Starbatty (ECR)

Jozo Rados (ALDE)                          

Izaskun Bilbao Barandica (ALDE)

Jude Kirton-Darling (S&D)

Anthea McIntyre MEP (ECR)

Bas Belder (ECR)

Urmas Paet (ALDE)

Javier Nart (ALDE)

Patrick Le Hyaric (GUE/NGL)

Eva Joly (Greens)

Pavel Telicka (ALDE)

Carolina Punset (ALDE)

Lola Sanchéz Caldentey (GUE/NGL)

Pascal Durand (Greens/EFA)                                      

Margot Parker (EFDD)

Judith Sargentini (Greens/EFA)                                  

Karoline Graswander-Hainz (S&D)

José Inácio Faria (EPP)                                             

David Martin (S&D)

Barbara Lochbihler (Greens/EFA)                              

Hilde Vautmans (ALDE)

Petras Austrevicius (ALDE)                                        

Bodil Valero (Greens/EFA)

Barbara Spinelli (GUE/EFA)                                     

Theresa Griffin (S&D)

Fredrick Federley (ALDE)                                          

Malin Björk (GUE/NGL)
Ivan Štefanec (EPP)