This website is an archive of the work of Marietje Schaake in the European Parliament between 2009 and 2019. Marietje can be reached at

Response EP-Turkey Forum to elections in Turkey

Press release

Public Statement on the outcome of the 24 June 2018 presidential and parliamentary elections in Turkey


Brussels, 25 June 2018



In a landmark election, the Turkish people has elected Recep Tayyip Erdoğan as president with 52% of the vote. The ruling Justice and Development Party’s (AKP) together with the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) have also won a majority in parliament with 343 seats out of 600.


“We congratulate those who won seats and welcome the plurality of the new parliament with the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) having managed to surpass the 10% threshold and the introduction of İYİ (Good) Party. However, the ongoing state of emergency, and the disproportionate measures resulting from it, have led to an uneven playing field for the opposition parties and candidates competing for the vote resulting in an unfair election. Especially when it comes to the lack of independent media and the silencing of critical journalism.”


“As warned by the Venice Commission, the new presidential system that now enters into force lacks the necessary checks and balances required to safeguard democracy and the rule of law, which are basic conditions for EU membership.”


“Following his campaign promise, we call on President Erdoğan to lift the state of emergency as a matter of urgency as well as to return to the rule of law.”


“Finally, we would like to praise Turkish citizens for showing continuous engagement to democracy and transparency by participating massively in the election and protecting the ballot box.”

About the EP-Turkey Forum

The EP-Turkey Forum is a cross-party non-partisan platform composed of sixty members of the European Parliament, which promotes high-level discussions between European and Turkish officials, decision-makers, civil society and business actors. The aim of the forum is to advance a well-informed debate on issues related to EU-Turkey relations while serving as a bridge between Turkey and the EU.


MEPs Anna Maria Corazza Bildt (EPP) and Ismail Ertug (S&D) are the co-chairs of the EP-Turkey Forum. MEPs Rebecca Harms (Greens/EFA), Javi López (S&D), Kati Piri (S&D), Marietje Schaake (ALDE) and Jordi Solé (Greens/EFA) are the vice-chairs.