This website is an archive of the work of Marietje Schaake in the European Parliament between 2009 and 2019. Marietje can be reached at

The decision not to include Russia in the list of high risk countries to counter money laundering and terrorism financing

Written questions to Commissioner Jourova

On February 13th, the European Commission adopted a list of countries with ‘strategic deficiencies in their anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing frameworks’ (1).  

The creation of a European list is a welcome move in response to various money laundering scandals involving European banks. At the end of last year, Danske Bank was for example charged with laundering over 200 billion dollars in funds from Russia (2).  

Similarly, a laundromat scheme through which between 20 and 80 billion dollars was moved out of Russia via Moldova and including a global network of banks was uncovered in 2014 (3).  

Russia is not amongst the 23 countries listed by the European Commission.  

1. Given involvement by high-ranking members of the Russian government in these and various other money laundering schemes, why was Russia not included in the list adopted on February 13th?

2. The Russian Federation was included in a list of 54 ‘priority jurisdictions’ under review. On the basis of what criteria was it decided to ultimately not include Russia in the list and is the European Commission not worried this non-listing could be seen as a tacit approval of Russia’s money laundering activities?

3. In addition to any objective criteria used to make the assessment to not include Russia in the list, did political consideration play a role in this decision and if so which?







  • Laima Andriekiene (EPP)
  • Renate Weber (ALDE)
  • Jude Kirton-Darling (S&D)
  • Molly Scott Cato(Greens)
  • Petr Jezek (ALDE)
  • Fredrick Federley (ALDE)
  • Jiri Pospisil (EPP)
  • Tunne Kelam (EPP)
  • Petras Austrevicius (ALDE)
  • Jarek Walesa (EPP)
  • Pavel Telicka (ALDE)
  • Dariusz Rosati (EPP)
  • Jose Inacio Faria (EPP)
  • Benedek Javor (Greens) 
  • Inese Vaidere (EPP)
  • Esther de Lange (EPP)
  • Ana Maria Gomes (S&D)
  • Anna Fotyga (ECR)
  • Roberts Zile (ECR)
  • Peter van Dalen (ECR)
  • Hans-Olaf Henkel (ECR)
  • Tom Vandenkendelaere (EPP)
  • Richard Sulik (ECR)
  • Michal Boni (S&D)
  • Maite Pagazaurtundúa (ALDE)
  • Karlis Sadurskis (EPP)
  • Aleksejs Loskutovs (EPP)
  • Mark Demesmaeker (ECR)
  • Ryszard Czarnecki (ECR)
  • Antanas Guoga (EPP)
  • Ramona Manescu (EPP)
  • Rebecca Harms (Greens)
  • Matthijs van Miltenburg (ALDE)
  • Margrete Auken (Greens) 
  • Carlos Coelho (EPP)
  • Indrek Tarand (Greens)
  • Pascal Durand (Greens)
  • Monica Macovei (ECR)
  • Elly Schlein (S&D)
  • David Martin (S&D)
  • Milan Zver (EPP)
  • Nessa Childers (S&D)
  • Svetoslav Malinov (EPP)
  • Elmar Brok (EPP)
  • Ludek Niedermayer (EPP)
  • Sophie in 't Veld (ALDE)
  • Gerben-Jan Gerbrandy (ALDE)