This website is an archive of the work of Marietje Schaake in the European Parliament between 2009 and 2019. Marietje can be reached at

Written Questions on the case of President Omar al-Bashir before the International Criminal Court

On June 24, Marietje Schaake submitted to Vice-President / High Representative of Foreign Affairs, Federica Mogherini, Parliamentary Written Questions on Sudan's President Omar al-Bashir being allowed to leave South Africa on 15 June, despite pending warrants from the International Criminal Court for his arrest. The Written Question was co-signed by 50 MEPs. Please find the full text and supporting MEPs below.   Author: Marietje Schaake Subject: The case of President Omar al-Bashir before the International Criminal Court  On Monday 15 June, Sudan's President Omar al-Bashir was able to leave South Africa, after attending an African Union meeting there. President al-Bashir is being sought by the International Criminal Court on charges of war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide related to the conflict in the Darfur region of Sudan. Though South Africa is signatory of the Rome Statute, its government defied the longstanding arrest warrant for Mr. Bashir. It is not the first time that Mr Bashir has travelled to other countries that signed the Rome Statute and been allowed to leave. How do the VP/HR and the EEAS plan to address this case with the South African authorities and how do they plan to ensure that this does not happen in the future? How does the VP/HR assess the implications of the failure to arrest Mr Bashir for the credibility of the ICC and its ability to carry out its crucial task of ensuring accountability and justice for war criminals? More broadly, how do the VP/HR and the EEAS plan to move forward to strengthen the ICC's credibility, especially in Africa, where resistance to the ICC has been growing over the past years and its legitimacy has actively been called into question? Marietje SCHAAKE Ivo VAJGL Jean -Luc SCHAFFHAUSER Marie-Christine VERGIAT Hans-Olaf HENKEL Helmut SCHOLZ Sophie IN 'T VELD Ramon TREMOSA i BALCELLS Marc TARABELLA Gerard DEPREZ Fernando MAURA BARANDIARÁN Nessa CHILDERS Enrique CALVET CHAMBON Ilhan KYUCHYUK Alyn SMITH Maite PAGAZAURTUNDÚA Jiří POSPÍŠIL Beatriz BECERRA Marian HARKIN Julie WARD Afzal KHAN Urmas PAET Dietmar KÖSTER Tunne KELAM Izaskun BILBAO BARANDICA Judith SARGENTINI Petr JEŽEK Pavel TELIČKA Filiz HYUSMENOVA Milan ZVER Matthijs VAN MILTENBURG Gerben-Jan GERBRANDY Josef WEIDENHOLZER Fabio Massimo CASTALDO Dita CHARANZOVÁ Frédérique RIES Molly SCOTT CATO Godelieve QUISTHOUDT-ROWOHL Petras AUSTREVICIUS Patricija ŠULIN Maria HEUBUCH Nedzhmi ALI Barbara LOCHBIHLER Elena VALENCIANO Marielle DE SARNEZ Charles GOERENS Kati PIRI Ana GOMES Brando BENIFEI Michael GAHLER Anna Maria CORAZZA BILDT